Posted on

Gottfried Honegger

* 12 June 1917 in Zurich; † 17 January 2016 same day

Gottfried Honegger learned to decorate shop windows and went on his travels as a designer and graphic artist. In 1939 he moved to Paris, where his first pictures and drawings were made.

tAt the end of the 1950s, Honegger moved to New York, where he met the abstract expressionists Mark Rothko and Sam Francis as well as exponents of hard-edge painting such as Al Held. At the same time, he was interested in the pioneers of constructive and concrete art.

Around 1960 back in Paris and Zurich, Honegger continued to paint on his square, monochrome white or red New York paintings. He began to work with computers and was interested in scientific research. He dedicated his first large sculpture to the Nobel Prize winner Jacques Monod.

Honegger’s work is present in many countries, above all in Germany, France and Switzerland: in public spaces as well as in private and museum collections. One highlight is the “Fondation Albers-Honegger” opened in the summer of 2004 in Mouans-Sartoux in southern France. It houses the Gottfried Honegger Collection and opened an exhibition entitled “alpha oméga” with his works on 24 January 2016.

In France and Switzerland the artist received his most important honours: in 1985 he became the French “Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Letters”. In 1987 he was awarded the Art Prize of the City of Zurich. In the same year, on his initiative, the House for Constructive and Concrete Art, today’s Haus Konstruktiv, was opened in Zurich.

Veröffentlicht am

Gottfried Honegger

* 12. Juni 1917 in Zürich; † 17. Januar 2016 ebenda

Gottfried Honegger lernte Schaufensterdekorateur, ging als Designer und Grafiker auf Wanderschaft. 1939 übersiedelte er nach Paris, wo seine ersten Bilder und Zeichnungen entstanden.

Ende der 1950er-Jahre zog Honegger nach New York, wo er den abstrakten Expressionisten Mark Rothko und Sam Francis sowie Exponenten der Hard-edge-Malerei wie Al Held begegnete. Gleichzeitig beschäftigte er sich mit den Pionieren der konstruktiven und konkreten Kunst.

Um 1960 zurück in Paris und Zürich, malte Honegger weiter an seinen quadratischen, monochromen weissen oder roten New Yorker Bildern. Er begann mit dem Computer zu arbeiten und interessierte sich für wissenschaftliche Forschung. Dem Nobelpreisträger Jacques Monod widmete er seine erste grosse Skulptur.

In vielen Ländern, vor allem in Deutschland, Frankreich und der Schweiz, ist Honeggers Werk präsent: im öffentlichen Raum ebenso wie in Privat- und Museumssammlungen. Ein Highlight ist die im Sommer 2004 im südfranzösischen Mouans-Sartoux eröffnete «Fondation Albers-Honegger». Sie beherbergt die Sammlung Gottfried Honeggers und eröffnete am 24. Januar 2016 unter dem Titel «alpha oméga» eine Ausstellung mit seinen Werken.

In Frankreich und der Schweiz erfuhr der Künstler seine wichtigsten Ehrungen: 1985 wurde er französischer «Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Letters». 1987 erhielt er den Kunstpreis der Stadt Zürich. Im gleichen Jahr wurde in Zürich auf seine Mitinitiative hin das Haus für konstruktive und konkrete Kunst, das heutige Haus Konstruktiv, eröffnet.

Veröffentlicht am Kategorien Ausstellungen, Künstler